Updating Skins

Saturday, May 15, 2004 by Essencay | Discussion: WinCustomize Talk

After fixing a issues with a skin, when you hit the Update button next to the skin what happens? Can you Upload a new preview? Does the original Description text stay and any additional text just get added to the bottom or do you have to rewrite the entire description?

Thanks
BoXXi
Reply #1 Saturday, May 15, 2004 6:37 PM
Hi Essencay: Yes, you can update any part of the upload. If you put in a new preview it will use that, if you don't, it will just use the one that is already there. Same for the text, if you erase the previous text you can write a completely new description, or you can just add to the existing text. Anything else you need to know, just shout.
Essencay
Reply #2 Saturday, May 15, 2004 6:56 PM
Thanks Boxxi
Latin4567
Reply #3 Sunday, May 16, 2004 11:10 PM
I have a question concerning this...
If you update somthing that has already been accepted and the upddate is refused by modderation does the skin get deleted or does it just return to its previous state?
Sugaree
Reply #4 Monday, May 17, 2004 1:14 AM
I think it get's deleted
Jafo
Reply #5 Monday, May 17, 2004 1:20 AM
If the 'updated' file means it gets noticed by another admin who may find issue with it, eg copyrights, etc...then it can/will be rejected which means it ceases to show on the site...either as an update or as the 'original'.
Latin4567
Reply #6 Monday, May 17, 2004 8:12 AM
but what if the original one had no problems but the updated version had issues
Jafo
Reply #7 Monday, May 17, 2004 8:50 AM
If whatever a person wants to put on this site is not in this site's best interest or acceptable within the 'rules' of upload then it will be removed whether it is an update or not.
Latin4567
Reply #8 Monday, May 17, 2004 2:32 PM
so it wont be restored to its previous state
okey thats all i guess
thanks
Essencay
Reply #9 Monday, May 17, 2004 2:39 PM
Latin....if you email T-man, I believe he can fix your double-posting It has something to do with the database here.
Latin4567
Reply #10 Monday, May 17, 2004 3:22 PM
thanks
_footsie_
Reply #11 Monday, May 17, 2004 4:05 PM
man this deja vu is freaking me out hahahaha
Jafo
Reply #12 Monday, May 17, 2004 9:25 PM
I should have clarified....when you update a work it overwrites the original file...so if the update is rejected/removed then so is the original...as that no longer exists...
teddybearcholla
Reply #13 Tuesday, May 18, 2004 12:21 PM
This answers the question about updating, that I have been meaning to ask!

Please login to comment and/or vote for this skin.

Welcome Guest! Please take the time to register with us.
There are many great features available to you once you register, including:

  • Richer content, access to many features that are disabled for guests like commenting on the forums and downloading skins.
  • Access to a great community, with a massive database of many, many areas of interest.
  • Access to contests & subscription offers like exclusive emails.
  • It's simple, and FREE!



web-wc01