Is there a way to undo changes?
Friday, April 3, 2009 by Rickinator69 | Discussion: SkinStudio
I've made some changes to a skin, but messed some things up. How can I get the original .bmp files back for the skin? Why isn't there an "Undo" option for mistakes? I tried the Force Image Reimport but I ended up getting back .bmp files I didn't want, which screwed it up even more. And I went to the root folder itself and tried right-click Undo but that didn't work either. There should be a simple way to go back/undo things. Thanks,
Reply #2 Friday, April 3, 2009 6:21 PM
And this is why I make a .wba file and save it to a folder in My Documents, before making any changes to a skin, having learned the hard way, that you can't "undo" if you've saved over.
Another option, I guess, would be to make a substyle, if you're just making changes to somebody else's skin for your own personal use.
Reply #3 Saturday, April 4, 2009 12:33 AM
I'm pretty new to this, but true, making a substyle would've been the thing to do is retrospect. That way I'd have all the original files if I needed them. However there still should be a a Go Back/Undo option. Thanks for the comments so far.
Reply #4 Saturday, April 4, 2009 1:16 AM
then there the option of always having a back up of the original.
so, if its a skin you downed and are editing it...go redown the skin, save a back up copy and re-import all the images you've edited to a 2nd copy.
Please login to comment and/or vote for this skin.
Welcome Guest! Please take the time to register with us.
There are many great features available to you once you register, including:
- Richer content, access to many features that are disabled for guests like commenting on the forums and downloading skins.
- Access to a great community, with a massive database of many, many areas of interest.
- Access to contests & subscription offers like exclusive emails.
- It's simple, and FREE!







Reply #1 Friday, April 3, 2009 5:28 PM
In skinstudio the default is promt to save every time you apply the blind.... you can turn this off in tools ---> preferences..... else dont click save if you dont want the changes to be permanent....... one thing you can do is all the orgiginal skinparts is still imported into the skin and should show up in the list.. unless you have saved over it with the new pic with same name then its gone.....